MLB News: Mike Trout, J.D. Martinez And Nolan Arenado Headline Silver Slugger Award Winners As Dodgers Are Shut Out
Keith Birmingham-Southern California News Group

Major League Baseball announced the list of 2018 American League and National League Silver Slugger Award winners, and as was the case with Gold Gloves, the Los Angeles Dodgers were shut out.

The winners included Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim outfielder Mike Trout, who won his sixth in seven full seasons in the Major Leagues.

There also was a bit of history made as J.D. Martinez of the Boston Red Sox won the award as both an outfielder and designated hitter, marking the first time in the 39-year history that a player has won two Silver Sluggers in the same season.

The rest of the AL winners were Kansas City Royals catcher Salvador Perez (second time winning), Chicago White Sox first baseman Jose Abreu (second), Houston Astros second baseman Jose Altuve (fifth), Cleveland Indians shortstop Francisco Lindor (second), Indians third baseman Jose Ramirez (second) and Red Sox outfielder Mookie Betts (second).

Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado headlined the NL winners, taking home his fourth Silver Slugger Award.

Other NL winners included Miami Marlins catcher J.T. Realmuto (first), Arizona Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt (fourth), Chicago Cubs second baseman Javier Baez (first), Rockies shortstop Trevor Story (first), Milwaukee Brewers outfielder Christian Yelich (second), Diamondbacks outfielder David Peralta (first), Atlanta Braves outfielder Nick Markakis (first) and Rockies pitcher German Marquez (first).

The Dodgers had some worthy candidates, namely first baseman Max Muncy, who had a breakout season in 2018. Yasmani Grandal also had a good case as one of the top-hitting catchers.

Manny Machado had a career season at the plate, but being traded from the Baltimore Orioles (AL) to the Dodgers (NL) in the middle of the season likely cost him from winning his first career Silver Slugger Award.