Dodgers First Team To 50 Wins During 2019 MLB Season, Tie 2nd-Best Start In Los Angeles Franchise History
Kim Klement/USA TODAY Sports

Having already been the first team to 20 wins during the 2019 MLB season, the Los Angeles Dodgers additionally were first to 30, 40 and with their 9-2 rout of the San Francisco Giants, paced the Majors to 50 victories.

At 50-25, the Dodgers are tied for the second-best start in Los Angeles franchise history. The 1977 club also sported that record through the first 75 games of their season. Since the franchise moved to L.A., both teams are bested only by the 1974 Dodgers that were 51-24.

In terms of calendar, June 19 is the second-earliest date any team has reached 50 wins in MLB history. The Dodgers trail only the 2001 Seattle Mariners who earned their 50th win by June 14 of that year.

The bulk of the Dodgers’ success this season has come at Dodger Stadium, where they are an MLB-best 30-9, and have have won 25 of their last 30 home games.

The Dodgers remain on pace to shatter the Los Angeles franchise record of 57 home wins, set in 2017. The 1953 Brooklyn team, which won the National League pennant, holds the organization’s all-time record with 60 wins at home.

Overall, the Dodgers are tracking to contend for best record in franchise history. The 1953 Brooklyn team holds the mark with 105 wins; the 2017 club set the L.A. record with 104 wins. That group was one game off the current Dodgers’ pace through 75 games (49-26) but ultimately were buoyed by their own historic stretch of 43-7.

The 2019 Dodgers have managed to excel despite Clayton Kershaw and Rich Hill beginning the season on the 10-day injured list and Corey Seager, who now is on the IL himself for the foreseeable future, getting off to a slow start.

They have been led by Cody Bellinger’s remarkable production, with the likes of Joc Pederson, Justin Turner and Alex Verdugo among those helping form a potent lineup on a nightly basis.

After concluding their four-game set with the Giants, the Dodgers will play two series each with the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks, and face the San Diego Padres before reaching the All-Star break.