Dodgers Break Los Angeles Franchise Record For Most Wins At Dodger Stadium
Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

With their victory over the San Diego Padres on Tuesday night, the Dodgers won their 56th game at Dodger Stadium this season to break a Los Angeles franchise record. The 1953 Brooklyn team, who won the National League pennant, holds the organization’s all-time record with 60 home wins.

The 1980 and 2015 Dodgers each won 55 games at Chavez Ravine. The franchise had teams win 54 home games in 1962, 1978 and 1991. None of the aforementioned clubs won the World Series. This year’s Dodgers likely would’ve shattered the home mark if not for an 0-7 homestand with losses to the Colorado Rockies and Arizona Diamondbacks from Sept. 4-10.

It was the backend of a stretch that saw Los Angeles drop nine straight home games. Because of a 10-game road trip, the home losing streak was not snapped until last Friday’s win against the San Francisco Giants that also clinched the National League West.

The Dodgers, who pace the Majors with a 101-57 record, also boast the best home record at 56-24. Their 45-33 road record is fourth-best overall and second behind the Washington Nationals in the NL.

The Dodgers’ longest winning streak at home this season was 11 games, a stretch that spanned from June 7-25. Dodger Stadium has been witness to 10 walk-off victories, and the organization was the first team to pass three million in attendance.

This season was a sixth in a row the Dodgers have reached three million in home attendance. They’ve led the Majors in that category in all but one year (2012) during that span.

The Dodgers play their final regular-season game at Chavez Ravine on Wednesday as they conclude a three-game set with the Padres.

In addition to breaking the Los Angeles record for home wins, a Washington Nationals’ loss to the Philadelphia Phillies meant they clinched home-field advantage throughout the NL Championship Series.

Thus, Dodger Stadium is tentatively scheduled to host Game 1 of the NLCS on Saturday, Oct. 14. The complete 2017 postseason and World Series schedule can be viewed here.