Athletics’ Matt Chapman, Diamondbacks Headline Wilson Defensive Player & Team Of The Year Awards
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Baseball announced the Wilson annual defense awards, and Oakland Athletics third baseman Matt Chapman took home the biggest honor, Defensive Player of the Year, while the Arizona Diamondbacks collectively were named the Defensive Team of the Year.

The Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards are based on defensive war (25 percent), defensive runs saved (25 percent), inside edge fielding ratings (20 percent), inside edge arm ratings (20 percent) and fielding percentage (10 percent).

One player at each position won the award, beginning with Diamondbacks pitcher Zack Greinke. Mike Zunino of the Seattle Mariners won it for the catchers, while Atlanta Braves first baseman Freddie Freeman, Colorado Rockies second baseman D.J. LeMahieu, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim shortstop Andrelton Simmons, Kansas City Royals left fielder Alex Gordon, Tampa Bay Rays center fielder Kevin Kiermeier and Boston Red Sox right fielder Mookie Betts also took home hardware.

Chapman, of course, received the award for all third basemen in addition to being named the overall Defensive Player of the Year.

As was the case in the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards this year, no Los Angeles Dodgers players were recognized for their defensive achievements in 2018.

The Dodgers were well-represented among the 2017 Wilson awards as Yasiel Puig was named the Defensive Player of the Year in right field, and Los Angeles was named the Defensive Team of the Year.