Zack Greinke Voted Winner Of 2015 Roy Campanella Award
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The Los Angeles Dodgers announced Wednesday Zack Greinke as the winner of the 10th annual Roy Campanella Award. Named after the Hall of Fame catcher, the award is presented annually to the Dodger player who best exemplifies the spirit and leadership of the late Campanella, and is voted on by Dodgers coaches and players.

Greinke will be presented with the award prior to Sunday’s regular-season finale with a ceremony that will include Campanella’s daughter, Joni Campanella Roan. Former Dodgers shortstop Rafael Furcal received the inaugural award in 2006.

Since then, Russell Martin (2007), James Loney (2008), Juan Pierre (2009), Jamey Carroll (2010), Matt Kemp (2011), A.J. Ellis (2012) and Clayton Kershaw (2013-14) have been presented with the award. Kershaw is the lone two-time recipient.

Greinke’s last started on Monday, allowing two runs on four hits in seven innings against the San Francisco Giants. The no-decision snapped a streak of five consecutive outings where the 31 year old earned a win.

Greinke nonetheless leads the Majors in quality starts (29), ERA (1.68), WHIP (0.85), winning percentage (.857, 18-3), and his .188 opponents’ batting average is second only to Jake Arrieta’s .187 batting average against.

Campanella spent the entirety of his 10-year career with the Brooklyn Dodgers. At the time 35 years old, Campanella was involved in a car accident prior to the Dodgers’ move to Los Angeles in 1958, which paralyzed him from the neck down, thus ending his career.

Campanella was named to eight All-Star teams, was a three-time MVP, and appeared in five World Series, including being part of Brooklyn’s championship team in 1955.

Greinke will make the final start of the regular season on Saturday, the middle game of the Dodgers’ three-game series against the San Diego Padres.