Spring Training Preview: Dodgers Seeing Willie Calhoun & Logan Forsythe In Matchup With Rangers; Kenley Jansen Makes 2019 Debut
Gregory J. Fisher-USA TODAY Sports

With the Los Angeles Dodgers facing the Texas Rangers for the first of two meetings in 2019 Spring Training, they are getting an opportunity to see familiar names in Willie Calhoun and Logan Forysthe.

Calhoun, who once was among the organization’s top prospects, was included a July 2017 trade that sent Yu Darvish to the Dodgers. Calhoun went on to make his MLB debut with the Rangers that season and appeared in 35 games last year.

He enters play Sunday just 3-for-16 with one double and one RBI over seven Cactus League games this year. Calhoun is starting in left field and batting second.

Forysthe is further down the Rangers lineup, penciled in at sixth. Sunday’s game is just his second this spring, as it wasn’t until last week that he signed a Minor League contract with an invitation to Spring Training.

Forsythe will need to demonstrate an ability to play shortstop if he wishes to make the Rangers’ Opening Day roster. Of his 815 career games, only 21 have been at shortstop, with 13 coming as starts. Forsythe last played the position (two games; one start) for the Dodgers in 2017.

Kenta Maeda and Lance Lynn make respective starts for their clubs, with the former toeing the rubber for a second time this spring, and the latter making his 2019 debut.

Kenley Jansen is in the same boat as Lynn. Although he’s pitched more frequently than last spring, Jansen has yet to appear in a Cactus League game. To this point he’s been limited to multiple bullpen sessions and live batting practice.

Edwin Rios returns to the lineup after not appearing in a game since Feb. 26 due to a battle with the flu. A.J. Pollock is in the leadoff spot a fifth time in as many starts.

Dodgers lineup:

CF: A.J. Pollock
1B: Max Muncy
DH: David Freese
LF: Alex Verdugo
C: Austin Barnes
RF: Ezequiel Carrera
3B: Edwin Rios
SS: Gavin Lux
2B: Omar Estevez

Rangers lineup:

DH: Hunter Pence
LF: Willie Calhoun
RF: Nomar Mazara
3B: Matt Davidson
1B: Ronald Guzman
SS: Logan Forsythe
CF: Eli White
2B: Andy Ibañez
C: Jose Trevino