Spring Training Preview: Clayton Kershaw’s Final Tuneup In Cy-Young Matchup With Corey Kluber
Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

The Los Angeles Dodgers find themselves in the final stretch of their exhibition, as they prepare for their opener April 4 against the San Diego Padres. The Dodgers are coming off a loss to the San Diego Padres, despite mounting a six-run rally in the eighth inning.

Now the Dodgers shift their focus to the Cleveland Indians in their final game of 2016 Spring Training. Camelback Ranch will play host to a pair of Cy Young Award winners as Clayton Kershaw and Corey Kluber take the mound.

Wednesday’s outing marks the final tuneup for Kershaw before he starts a sixth consecutive Opening Day game. In his last start against the same Indians, Kershaw allowed seven hits, but kept the damage to just two runs allowed.

In five innings of work, the southpaw struck out seven batters and issued three walks. Overall this spring, Kershaw is 2-0 with a 2.25 ERA and 1.35 WHIP. He’s allowed five runs over 20 innings pitched, and racked up 21 strikeouts to six walks.

Meanwhile, Kluber is coming off an outing in which he allowed four runs on 13 hits to the Arizona Diamondbacks over 6.1 innings. Kluber is 3-1 with a 2.21 ERA and 1.38 WHIP over five starts this spring.

The right-hander faced the Dodgers once in his career — in 2014 — and suffered a loss in the pitchers’ duel opposite Dan Haren, despite only allowing one run on six hits and totaling five strikeouts over 6.2 innings.

Getting the start in left field and batting cleanup is Scott Van Slyke. Leading off and playing second base is Chase Utley. Joc Pederson, who went 3-for-4 with a three-run home run on Tuesday, is once again in center field.

Behind the plate for the Dodgers is A.J. Ellis, while Spring Training standouts Rob Segedin and Charlie Culberson make up the left side of the infield.

Dodgers lineup:

2B: Chase Utley
RF: Trayce THompson
1B: Adrian Gonzalez
LF: Scott Van Slyke
CF: Joc Pederson
C: A.J. Ellis
3B: Rob Segedin
SS: Charlie Culberson
P: Clayton Kershaw

Indians lineup:

2B: Jason Kipnis
SS: Francisco Lindor
DH: Carlos Santana
1B: Mike Napoli
RF: Marlon Byrd
3B: Juan Uribe
CF: Collin Cowgill
C: Roberto Perez
LF: Jose Ramirez