Phillies Eliminating Padres Brings End To Dodgers’ World Series Streak

For the first time since the 2015 postseason, the Los Angeles Dodgers or a team that eliminated them will not win the World Series.

The Dodgers’ World Series streak was snapped Sunday night when the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the San Diego Padres in Game 5 of the National League Championship Series.

The No. 6 seeded Phillies reached the NLCS after winning their Wild Card Series matchup against the St. Louis Cardinals, followed by then upsetting the Atlanta Braves.

Atlanta winning the 2021 World Series extended the Dodgers’ streak to six consecutive years of capturing the title themselves or being eliminated by the eventual champion.

The Padres also played in the Wild Card Series, dispatching the New York Mets in three games, then the Dodgers in four during their second NLDS meeting in the past three years.

Although it may be difficult to fathom a team either winning the World Series or losing to the champion for more than six consecutive years, the Dodgers’ streak trailed that of the New York Yankees.

From 1998-2004, the Yankees won the World Series (three times) or were eliminated by the future championship club over the seven-year span. The Yankees’ stretch began with three consecutive titles before October annually gave way to defeat.

Unfortunately for L.A., their streak entailed just one World Series title.

The Yankees remain the last MLB team to repeat as champions (1998-2000).

History of Dodgers’ World Series streak

2016: Eliminated by Chicago Cubs in NLCS
2017: Lose to Houston Astros in World Series
2018: Lose to Boston Red Sox in World Series
2019: Lose to Washington Nationals in NLDS
2020: Win World Series
2021: Eliminated by Braves in NLCS

Have you subscribed to the Dodger Blue YouTube channel? Be sure to ring the notification bell to watch player interviews, participate in shows and giveaways, and stay up to date on all Dodgers news and rumors!