MLB All-Star Game Voting Update: Dodgers’ Cody Bellinger & Joc Pederson Among Starters Election Finalists
Cody Bellinger, Joc Pederson
David Kohl-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Baseball announced players who advanced from “The Primary” All-Star Game vote to “The Starters Election,” and two Los Angeles Dodgers players made the cut as Cody Bellinger and Joc Pederson were both within the top nine National League outfield vote-getters.

Bellinger led all of MLB in votes after the last final voting update and while the official tallies were not released with the finalists, he at least remained first in the NL outfield voting.

The top three players at each position move on to the final round, although in the outfield it is the top nine vote-getters.

Pederson came in at No. 9 in the outfield, behind Christian Yelich, Ronald Acuña Jr., Nick Markakis, Charlie Blackmon, Albert Almora Jr., Jason Heyward and Kyle Schwarber.

Other Dodgers players were also in the mix as Austin Barnes was sixth among catchers after the last voting update while Max Muncy was fourth among first basemen, Kiké Hernandez was fourth among second basemen, Corey Seager was third among shortstops and Alex Verdugo was 11th in the outfield.

Each failed to advance.

“The Starters Election” round of voting begins at 9 a.m. PT on Wednesday, June 26, so Dodgers fans will have to get to work next week if they want to see Bellinger and Pederson starting in the 2019 MLB All-Star Game on July 9 at Progressive Field in Cleveland.

During “The Starters Election” period, fans will have an opportunity to vote among the finalists at each position during a 28-hour window that closes at 1:00 p.m. on Thursday, June 27. Results from “The Starters Election” will be announced at 4:00 p.m. that night on ESPN.

Fans can vote once on MLB platforms and submit up to 17 unique player votes on Google during the second phase. Vote totals will reset (votes from “The Primary” do not carry over) and the winner at each position (including three outfielders per League) will be named a starting position player for the game.

Fans can cast their votes exclusively online and via mobile devices at, all 30 team websites, MLB At Bat and MLB Ballpark apps, and via Google Search (U.S. and Canada only).

Complete list of the players who reached The Starters Election:


Gary Sanchez (Yankees)
James McCann (White Sox)
Robinson Chirinos (Astros)

Willson Contreras (Cubs)
Brian McCann (Braves)
Yasmani Grandal (Brewers)


C.J. Cron (Twins)
Carlos Santana (Indians)
Luke Voit (Yankees)

Josh Bell (Pirates)
Freddie Freeman (Braves)
Anthony Rizzo (Cubs)


Tommy La Stella (Angels)
José Altuve (Astros)
DJ LeMahieu (Yankees)

Ozzie Albies (Braves)
Mike Moustakas (Brewers)
Ketel Marte (D-backs)


Carlos Correa (Astros)
Jorge Polanco (Twins)
Gleyber Torres (Yankees)

Javier Báez (Cubs)
Dansby Swanson (Braves)
Trevor Story (Rockies)


Alex Bregman (Astros)
Hunter Dozier (Royals)
Gio Urshela (Yankees)

Nolan Arenado (Rockies)
Kris Bryant (Cubs)
Josh Donaldson (Braves)


Mookie Betts (Red Sox)
Michael Brantley (Astros)
Joey Gallo (Rangers)
Aaron Judge (Yankees)
Austin Meadows (Rays)
Josh Reddick (Astros)
Eddie Rosario (Twins)
George Springer (Astros)
Mike Trout (Angels)

Ronald Acuna Jr. (Braves)
Albert Almora Jr. (Cubs)
Cody Bellinger (Dodgers)
Charlie Blackmon (Rockies)
Jason Heyward (Cubs)
Nick Markakis (Braves)
Joc Pederson (Dodgers)
Kyle Schwarber (Cubs)
Christian Yelich (Brewers)


Nelson Cruz (Twins)
J.D. Martinez (Red Sox)
Hunter Pence (Rangers)