Minor League Baseball Returns Historic League Names With Start Of 2022 Season

Minor League Baseball announced the return of the historical names for the 11 leagues that comprise the player development system for MLB’s 30 clubs.

During the 2021 season, the leagues had regional names, such as Triple-A East and Triple-A West, while the rights to the use of the historic league names were in the process of being acquired by MLB.

“Major League Baseball is pleased to restore the historic names for each of the minor leagues that our fans are familiar with,” MLB’s senior vice president of Minor League operations and development Peter Woodfork said in a statement.

“We are excited for what the future holds for each of these leagues and the communities that make up Minor League Baseball.”

MLB also formally updated the initial classification levels to Triple-A, Double-A, High-A and Single-A, which was previously referred to as Low-A. All league logos from the 2019 season will return, with the exception of a new logo for the Pacific Coast League.

For the Los Angeles Dodgers’ affiliates, the Triple-A Oklahoma City Dodgers play in the Pacific Coast League, the Double-A Tulsa Drillers play in the Texas League, the High-A Great Lakes Loons play in the Midwest League and the Single-A Rancho Cucamonga Quakes play in the California League.

Full List of MiLB leagues and teams

International League (Triple-A)

Originally founded: 1884
Current teams (20): Buffalo Bisons, Charlotte Knights, Columbus Clippers, Durham Bulls, Gwinnett Stripers, Indianapolis Indians, Iowa Cubs, Jacksonville Jumbo Shrimp, Lehigh Valley IronPigs, Louisville Bats, Memphis Redbirds, Nashville Sounds, Norfolk Tides, Omaha Storm Chasers, Rochester Red Wings, Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders, St. Paul Saints, Syracuse Mets, Toledo Mud Hens, and Worcester Red Sox.

Pacific Coast League (Triple-A)

Originally founded: 1903
Current teams (10): Albuquerque Isotopes, El Paso Chihuahuas, Las Vegas Aviators, Oklahoma City Dodgers, Reno Aces, Round Rock Express, Sacramento River Cats, Salt Lake Bees, Sugar Land Space Cowboys, and Tacoma Rainiers.

Eastern League (Double-A)

Originally founded: 1923
Current teams (12): Akron RubberDucks, Altoona Curve, Binghamton Rumble Ponies, Bowie Baysox, Erie SeaWolves, Harrisburg Senators, Hartford Yard Goats, New Hampshire Fisher Cats, Portland Sea Dogs, Reading Fightin Phils, Richmond Flying Squirrels, and Somerset Patriots.

Southern League (Double-A)

Originally founded: 1885
Current teams (8): Biloxi Shuckers, Birmingham Barons, Chattanooga Lookouts, Mississippi Braves, Montgomery Biscuits, Pensacola Blue Wahoos, Rocket City Trash Pandas, and Tennessee Smokies.

Texas League (Double-A)

Originally founded: 1888
Current teams (10): Amarillo Sod Poodles, Arkansas Travelers, Corpus Christi Hooks, Frisco RoughRiders, Midland RockHounds, Northwest Arkansas Naturals, San Antonio Missions, Springfield Cardinals, Tulsa Drillers, and Wichita Wind Surge.

Midwest League (High-A)

Originally founded: 1947
Current teams (12): Beloit Sky Carp, Cedar Rapids Kernels, Dayton Dragons, Fort Wayne TinCaps, Great Lakes Loons, Lake County Captains, Lansing Lugnuts, Peoria Chiefs, Quad Cities River Bandits, South Bend Cubs, West Michigan Whitecaps and Wisconsin Timber Rattlers.

Northwest League (High-A)

Originally founded: 1955
Current teams (6): Eugene Emeralds, Everett AquaSox, Hillsboro Hops, Spokane Indians, Tri-City Dust Devils and Vancouver Canadians.

South Atlantic League (High-A)

Originally founded: 1903
Current teams (12): Aberdeen IronBirds, Asheville Tourists, Bowling Green Hot Rods, Brooklyn Cyclones, Greensboro Grasshoppers, Greenville Drive, Hickory Crawdads, Hudson Valley Renegades, Jersey Shore BlueClaws, Rome Braves, Wilmington Blue Rocks and Winston-Salem Dash.

California League (Single-A)

Originally founded: 1941
Current teams (8): Fresno Grizzlies, Inland Empire 66ers, Lake Elsinore Storm, Modesto Nuts, Rancho Cucamonga Quakes, San Jose Giants, Stockton Ports and Visalia Rawhide.

Carolina League (Single-A)

Originally founded: 1945
Current teams (12): Augusta GreenJackets, Carolina Mudcats, Charleston RiverDogs, Columbia Fireflies, Delmarva Shorebirds, Down East Wood Ducks, Fayetteville Woodpeckers, Fredericksburg Nationals, Kannapolis Cannon Ballers, Lynchburg Hillcats, Myrtle Beach Pelicans and Salem Red Sox.

Florida State League (Single-A)

Originally founded: 1919
Current teams (10): Bradenton Marauders, Clearwater Threshers, Daytona Tortugas, Dunedin Blue Jays, Fort Myers Mighty Mussels, Jupiter Hammerheads, Lakeland Flying Tigers, Palm Beach Cardinals, St. Lucie Mets and Tampa Tarpons.

Have you subscribed to the Dodger Blue YouTube channel? Be sure to ring the notification bell to watch player interviews, participate in shows and giveaways, and stay up to date on all Dodgers news and rumors!