Los Angeles Dodgers History In Home Run Derby

The 2023 Home Run Derby at T-Mobile Park in Seattle featured five first-time participants, including Los Angeles Dodgers All-Star Mookie Betts. The 30-year-old became the 10th Dodgers player to compete in the event since its inception in 1985.

It was also the 13th time overall that a Dodgers player has participated in a Home Run Derby. Dodgers history in the event has not been very successful, which Betts had the misfortune of adding onto.

Betts earned the No. 3 seed by virtue of hitting 23 home runs through the designated period before the Home Run Derby bracket was set, and got eliminated by eventual champion Vladimir Guerrero Jr. of the Toronto Blue Jays in the first round.

Betts admittedly had low expectations going into the Derby as his main goal was to not finish in last place. Unfortunately for the 2018 American League MVP, he hit the fewest home runs of the eight players.

Dodgers history in Home Run Derby

Mookie Betts (2023)

Betts became the latest Dodgers player to struggle in the Home Run Derby as he hit 11 home runs and declined to use his timeout during the initial three-minute period.

None of Betts’ homers traveled 440 feet, which left him with only 30 seconds in the bonus round. He failed to hit another home run during that span.

Joc Pederson (2019)

In the 2019 Home Run Derby at Progressive Field, Joc Pederson eliminated Alex Bregman in the first round before competing against Vladimir Guerrero Jr. in a thrilling semifinals.

Max Muncy (2018)

Max Muncy participated in the 2018 Home Run Derby at Nationals Park and eliminated Javier Báez in the first round (17-16), but was knocked out by eventual champion Bryce Harper in the semifinals (13-12).

Cody Bellinger (2017)

Cody Bellinger took his cuts in the 2017 Home Run Derby at Marlins Park and defeated Charlie Blackmon in the first round (15-14), but was eliminated by the eventual champion Aaron Judge in the semifinals (13-12).

Corey Seager (2016)

Corey Seager participated in the 2016 Home Run Derby at Petco Park and put on a show in the first round by hitting 15 home runs, but it wasn’t enough to eliminate Mark Trumbo, who slugged 16 long balls.

Joc Pederson (2015)

Joc Pederson changed the Dodgers’ fortunes in the 2015 Home Run Derby at Great American Ball Park as he advanced to the final round under the new format. Pederson defeated Manny Machado in the first round (13-12), edged Albert Pujols to advance to the finals, but came up just short against Todd Frazier (15-14).

Yasiel Puig (2014)

Yasiel Puig competed in the 2014 Home Run Derby at Target Field, but did not get past the first round. Puig failed to hit a single home run during his showing.

Matt Kemp (2011, 2012)

Matt Kemp is one of only two Dodgers players to participate in multiple Home Run Derby events, and his results were the same both times. Kemp hit two home runs in the 2011 competition and one the following year, failing to advance past the first round.

Hee-Seop Choi (2005)

Hee-Seop Choi represented the Dodgers in the 2005 Home Run Derby but only hit five long balls and was eliminated in the first round.

Raúl Mondesí (1995)

Raúl Mondesí was among the competitors in the 1995 event but did not advance past the first round after hitting two home runs.

Mike Piazza (1993, 1994)

Mike Piazza participated in the 1993 and 1994 Home Run Derby but failed to hit a home run both times.

Have you subscribed to the Dodger Blue YouTube channel? Be sure to ring the notification bell to watch player interviews, participate in shows and giveaways, and stay up to date on all Dodgers news and rumors!