Full List Of 2017 Gold Glove Award Winners
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The 2017 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners were announced during an hour-long special on ESPN that saw six first-time recipients. Not among them, however, were Los Angeles Dodgers teammates Yasiel Puig and Corey Seager.

Puig lost out to Chicago Cubs right fielder Jason Heyward, who captured his fourth consecutive Gold Glove, and fifth overall in his career. This season figured to be as good as nay for Puig to take home the hardware, which he vowed to do in 2018.

That Seager was a finalist came as a mild surprise. He’s certainly more than capable of playing the position, doing so in a steady manner.

San Francisco Giants shortstop Brandon Crawford won the award, besting Seager and Freddy Galvis of the Philadelphia Phillies.

Gold Gloves were voted on by managers and coaches around the league, though they are not permitted to vote for their own players. The coach/manager votes account for 75 percent of the formula, and the SABR Defensive Index make up the remaining 25 percent.

National League Gold Glove Award winners

Pitcher: Zack Greinke, Arizona Diamondbacks (fourth award)
Catcher: Tucker Barnhart, Cincinnati Reds (first award)
First base: Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks (third award)
Second base: DJ LeMahieu, Colorado Rockies (second award)
Third base: Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies (fifth award)
Shortstop: Brandon Crawford, San Francisco Giants (third award)
Left field: Marcell Ozuna, Miami Marlins (first award)
Center field: Ender Inciarte, Atlanta Braves (second award)
Right field: Jason Heyward, Chicago Cubs (fifth award)

American League Gold Glove Award winners

Pitcher: Marcus Stroman, Toronto Blue Jays (first award)
Catcher: Martin Maldonado, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim (first award)
First base: Eric Hosmer, Kansas City Royals (fourth award)
Second base: Brian Dozier, Minnesota Twins (first award)
Third base: Evan Longoria, Tampa Bay Rays (third award)
Shortstop: Andrelton Simmons, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim (third award)
Left field: Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals (fifth award)
Center field: Byron Buxton, Minnesota Twins (first award)
Right field: Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox (second award)