Finalists For 2023 MLB Players Choice Awards

The MLB Players Association (MLBPA) announced finalists for the 2023 Players Choice Awards, which are particularly distinguished as they are chosen through a vote of their peers.

The Los Angeles Dodgers only had Mookie Betts place among the top three for any of the categories, as he is up for MLB Player of the Year and National League Outstanding Player.

Marcus Semien, Francisco Lindor, and Ian Happ are finalists for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award, which is given to the player “whose leadership most inspires others to higher levels of achievement.” Lindor won the award in 2022, when Semien was a finalist as well.

Marvin Miller served as the MLBPA’S first full-time executive director from 1966-1982 and is widely given credit for their development into one of the most steady and successful labor unions in the country.

The Curt Flood Award is given to the person “who in the image of Flood demonstrated a selfless, longtime devotion to the Players Association and advancement of Players’ rights.” Flood’s challenging of the major leagues’ reserve clause was unsuccessful in court but eventually led to a complete change in the rules of the clause.

Finalists for the 2023 Curt Flood Award are Phil Bradley and Scott Sanderson. Steve Rogers won the award in 2022.

All winners for 2023 Players Choice Awards will be announced Thursday, November 2, during the 3 p.m. PT edition of “SportsCenter” on ESPN.

Full list of 2023 Players Choice Awards nominees

Player of the Year

Ronald Acuña Jr., Mookie Betts, Shohei Ohtani

Outstanding Player Award

American League: Yandy Díaz, Shohei Ohtani, Corey Seager

National League: Ronald Acuña Jr., Mookie Betts, Matt Olson

Outstanding Pitcher Award

American League: Kyle Bradish, Gerrit Cole, Sonny Gray

National League: Zac Gallen, Blake Snell, Justin Steele

Outstanding Rookie Award

American League: Triston Casas, Gunnar Henderson, Josh Jung

National League: Corbin Carroll, Kodai Senga, Spencer Steer

Comeback Player Award

American League: Tyler Glasnow, Liam Hendriks, Ryan O’Hearn

National League: Cody Bellinger, Michael Conforto, Bryce Harper

Marvin Miller Man of the Year

Ian Happ, Francisco Lindor, Marcus Semien

Curt Flood Award

Phil Bradley, Scott Sanderson

Have you subscribed to the Dodger Blue YouTube channel? Be sure to ring the notification bell to watch player interviews, participate in shows and giveaways, and stay up to date on all Dodgers news and rumors!