Dodgers Vote Chris Taylor Winner Of 2021 Roy Campanella Award
Chris Taylor, 2021 All-Star Game
Adam Glanzman/MLB Photos

The Los Angeles Dodgers voted Chris Taylor the winner of the 16th annual Roy Campanella Award, which is given annually to one player who best exemplifies the spirit and leadership of the late Hall of Fame catcher.

Within the organization it’s also known as “Most Inspirational Dodger.” The award is voted on by uniformed Dodgers personnel (players and coaches). Last year it went to Justin Turner, who became the organization’s first three-time recipient to break a tie with two-time winners Clayton Kershaw and Chase Utley.

Campanella was a three-time National League MVP (1951, 1953 and 1955), eight-time All-Star and member of the 1955 Brooklyn team that won the World Series. Campanella was involved in a car accident in January 1958, which paralyzed him from the neck down and ended his playing career.

For Taylor the honor adds to a season that’s already seen him earn a first career All-Star Game selection and be named the Dodgers’ winner of the 2021 Heart & Hustle Award, which is presented annually by the Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association (MLBPAA) to one player on each team who “best embodies the values, spirits and traditions of baseball,” along with factoring in on-field performance.

Taylor has put together another productive campaign in his sixth year with L.A., which again began as a super utility player. However, Corey Seager’s hand fracture required Taylor to take on an everyday role at shortstop, and he also performed well in the leadoff spot while Mookie Betts was unavailable.

“He’s invaluable,” Dodgers manager Dave Roberts recently said of Taylor, who was named NL Player of the Week for July 19-25.

“Having your regular players out, and for him to step up, play a premium defensive position and have a huge day offensively, we needed every bit of it. That’s why I just think so highly of the person and the player.”

Taylor added to history of Roy Campanella Award winners

Rafael Furcal received the inaugural Roy Campanella Award in 2006, and Taylor now is part of a group that includes Russell Martin (2007), James Loney (2008), Juan Pierre (2009), Jamey Carroll (2010), Matt Kemp (2011), A.J. Ellis (2012), Kershaw (2013, 2014), Zack Greinke (2015), Utley (2016, 2018) and Turner (2017, 2019, 2020).

Have you subscribed to the Dodger Blue YouTube channel? Be sure to ring the notification bell to watch player interviews, participate in shows and giveaways, and more!