Dodgers Videos: Dave Roberts, Corey Seager Accept Manager Of The Year, Rookie Of The Year Awards
Kenta Maeda Turns In Strong Start, Corey Seager And Trayce Thompson Slug Dodgers Past Braves
Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

After an impressive showing with the Los Angeles Dodgers during September 2015, Corey Seager entered last season as baseball’s consensus No. 1 prospect. Seager was the favorite to win the 2016 National League Rookie of the Year Award, and played himself into a unanimous selection.

Washington Nationals shortstop/center fielder Trea Turner and Dodgers right-hander Kenta Maeda each received 11 second-place votes, but Turner received nine third-place votes to Maeda’s four, and finished second in Rookie of the Year voting with 42 points.

Seager became the 17th Dodgers player in franchise history to win Rookie of the Year, and first since Todd Hollandsworth in 1996. Mike Piazza (1993) and Raul Mondesi (1994) are the only other Dodgers to unanimously win Rookie of the Year.

Seager, who also earned a Silver Slugger Award, hit .308/.365/.512 with a 137 OPS+, .372 wOBA and 137 wRC+. He led qualified Dodgers in batting average, on-base percentage, total hits (193), doubles (40), triples (five) and was second in home runs (26).

The 22-year-old shortstop officially received his 2016 NL Rookie of the Year Award on Saturday night at the Baseball Writers’ Association of America dinner in New York.

Also honored at the awards dinner was Dodgers skipper Dave Roberts, who won the 2016 NL Manager of the Year Award.

Tommy Lasorda and Roberts are the lone Dodgers managers to win the award. Roberts guided the Dodgers to an unprecedented fourth-consecutive NL West division title and finished two wins shy of reaching the World Series.

That was despite Los Angeles setting a Major League record by placing 28 different players on the disabled list in a single season. The Dodgers, who lost Clayton Kershaw to the DL for more than two months, overcame an eight-game deficit to the San Francisco Giants in the standings. Roberts became