Dodgers News: Walker Buehler, Max Scherzer, Trea Turner, Kenley Jansen & Julio Urias Earn All-MLB Honors For 2021 Season
Walker Buehler, Danny Lehmann, Max Muncy, Dave Roberts, 2021 NLCS
Dale Zanine/USA TODAY Sports

The Los Angeles Dodgers led all teams with five players earning All-MLB honors for the 2021 season. Walker Buehler and Max Scherzer both were named to the First Team, while Trea Turner, Julio Urias and Kenley Jansen were included on the Second Team.

Will Smith, Max Muncy, Justin Turner, Corey Seager and Mookie Betts were named among the nominees. Selections to the All-MLB Teams comprised of 50% fan vote and 50% baseball media panel voting.

Last year the Dodgers were represented by Betts, Clayton Kershaw and Seager on the All-MLB Teams. Betts earned a First Team selection, while Kershaw and Seager were each featured on the Second Team. Justin Turner was a finalist for that season as well but did not place.

Buehler — who arguably was a snub by not being a National League Cy Young Award finalist — is part of an All-MLB Team for the first time in his career. The right-hander went 16-4 with a 2.47 ERA and 212 strikeouts in 33 starts.

He set career highs in wins, innings pitched, ERA and winning percentage (.800), while recording his second season with at least 200 strikeouts and being named to his second All-Star Game. Buehler was named NL Pitcher of the Month for July and finished in fourth place in Cy Young voting.

Scherzer was previously named to the All-MLB First Team in 2019 and earned the honor again after going a combined 15-4 with a 2.46 ERA for the Washington Nationals and Dodgers. Scherzer led all NL pitchers with a 0.86 WHIP and .185 batting average against; and was second in ERA and with 11.91 strikeouts per nine innings.

Scherzer dominated for the Dodgers to the tune of a 7-0 record a 1.98 ERA in 11 starts.

Trea Turner earned a first career All-MLB selection behind a season in which he won the NL batting crown and led the league with 32 stolen bases. Turner finished in fifth place for NL MVP voting.

Urias also received a first career All-MLB selection. He was the Majors’ only 20-game winner this year and the Dodgers’ first pitcher to reach that benchmark since Kershaw in his 2014 MVP season.

Urias joined Fernando Valenzuela (1986), Teddy Higuera (1986) and Esteban Loiaza (2003) as the only Mexican-born pitchers to win at least 20 games in a single season. Urias set career-best marks in wins, ERA (2.96), winning percentage (.870), strikeouts (195) and WHIP (1.018).

Jansen enjoyed a resurgent season for his first All-MLB honor and in his 12th year with the team went 4-4 with 38 saves and a 2.22 ERA.


First Team

DH: Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Angels
C: Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals
1B: Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Toronto Blue Jays
2B: Marcus Semien, Toronto Blue Jays
SS: Fernando Tatis Jr., San Diego Padres
3B: Austin Riley, Atlanta Braves
OF: Juan Soto, Washington Nationals
OF: Bryce Harper, Philadelphia Phillies
OF: Aaron Judge, New York Yankees
SP: Max Scherzer, Los Angeles Dodgers
SP: Corbin Burnes, Milwaukee Brewers
SP: Walker Buehler, Los Angeles Dodgers
SP: Robbie Ray, Toronto Blue Jays
SP: Gerrit Cole, New York Yankees
RP: Josh Hader, Milwaukee Brewers
RP: Liam Hendriks, Chicago White Sox

Second Team

DH: Yordan Alvarez, Houston Astros
C: Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants
1B: Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves
2B: Ozzie Albies, Atlanta Braves
SS: Trea Turner, Los Angeles Dodgers
3B: Rafael Devers, Boston Red Sox
OF: Nick Castellanos, Cincinnati Reds
OF: Kyle Tucker, Houston Astros
OF: Teoscar Hernández, Toronto Blue Jays
SP: Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Angels
SP: Julio Urías, Los Angeles Dodgers
SP: Kevin Gausman, San Francisco Giants
SP: Max Fried, Atlanta Braves
SP: Zack Wheeler, Philadelphia Phillies
RP: Raisel Iglesias, Los Angeles Angels
RP: Kenley Jansen, Los Angeles Dodgers

Have you subscribed to the Dodger Blue YouTube channel? Be sure to ring the notification bell to watch player interviews, participate in shows and giveaways, and stay up to date on all Dodgers news and rumors!