Dodgers News: Kenley Jansen Wins 2017 Trevor Hoffman Award
Thomas B. Shea-USA TODAY Sports

Los Angeles Dodgers closer Kenley Jansen was named the winner of the 2017 Trevor Hoffman Award, which is presented to the best relief pitcher in the National League. Boston Red Sox closer Craig Kimbrel was named the Mariano Rivera American League Reliever of the Year.

Both pitchers were presented with the hardware prior to Game 4 of the World Series. The awards are based on regular-season performance, and voted on by a panel of eight former relievers: Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, John Franco, Hoffman, Mariano Rivera, Lee Smith, Bruce Sutter and Billy Wagner. Votes were cast on a weighted point system (one, three, five).

“This is awesome. To be recognized as just sitting here with the best relievers in the game, and to sit with Mr. Commissioner, just to be recognized as the best reliever in the game,” Jansen said.

“I mean, I’ve just got to thank all the relievers in the game, Craig Kimbrel, all those great closers, by pushing me, just watching how they go about their business and be great. You want to be one of the greatest out there, too.”

This is Jansen’s second consecutive year earning the Trevor Hoffman Award. An All-Star for a second time in as many season, he tied for the NL lead with 41 saves, while pitching to a 1.32 ERA, 1.31 FIP and 0.75 WHIP in 68.1 innings with 109 strikeouts against seven walks.

Jansen broke an MLB record by amassing 36 strikeouts without issuing a walk to start a season. St. Louis Cardinals righty Adam Wainwright set the previous mark with 35 strikeouts in 2013.

Jansen extended his record to 53 strikeouts before issuing a walk against the Colorado Rockies on June 25. Jansen accumulated a career-best 2.9 WAR (Baseball-Reference) during the regular season and posted a perfect 5-0 record.

Chicago Cubs closer Wade Davis and Milwaukee Brewers reliever Corey Knebel joined Jansen as finalists for this year’s Trevor Hoffman Award.