Dodgers News: Keibert Ruiz, D.J. Peters Among 22 Spring Training Non-Roster Invitees
Steve Saenz-Rancho Cucamonga Quakes

The Los Angeles Dodgers announced 22 non-roster invitees to big league Spring Training camp this year, with top prospects like Keibert Ruiz, D.J. Peters, Will Smith and Yusniel Diaz headlining the group.

For all four of them, it will be their first experience in big league camp, as will be the case for some other prospects in the organization like Drew Jackson and Edwin Rios.

Other prospects such as Henry Ramos and Yaisel Sierra are returning for their second straight spring on the Major League side. Although they both received very limited opportunities last year.

In addition to the prospects, there will also be some players who signed Minor League contracts with the organization this offseason who received an invite. Included in that group are Jake Peter, Donovan Solano, Travis Taijeron and Pat Venditte.

Venditte, formerly of the Oakland Athletics, Toronto Blue Jays and Seattle Mariners, is of course known for being an ambidextrous pitcher.

Solano, who is one of the Dodgers most recent signees, was hit by a pitch in the face in a recent Dominican Winter League game. He was able to avoid any facial fractures though and should be ready by the start of spring.

Veteran pitcher Mark Lowe also returns to the organization for the second time. The 34-year-old was a non-roster invitee in 2013, although he wound up being released before the regular season.

The start of Spring Training is just around the corner as pitchers and catchers report on Tuesday, Feb. 13, with the first full-squad work out taking place on Feb. 19.

The Dodgers’ Cactus League schedule begins against the Chicago White Sox on Feb. 23, and Los Angeles breaks camp after facing the White Sox on March 24. The Dodgers conclude their exhibition schedule by facing the Los Angeles Angeles of Anaheim in a three-game series.

Breakdown of Dodgers non-roster invitees to 2018 Spring Training:

Pitchers: Manny Banuelos, Joe Broussard, Daniel Corcino, CC Lee, Mark Lowe, Brian Moran, Zach Neal, Yaisel Sierra, Pat Venditte

Catchers: Keibert Ruiz, Will Smith, Shawn Zarrage

Infielders: Matt Beaty, Drew Jackson, Max Muncy, Jake Peter, Edwin Rios, Donovan Solano

Outfielders: Yusniel Diaz, DJ Peters, Henry Ramos, Travis Taijeron