Dodgers News: Joe Davis, Andrew Friedman Nominated For 2017 MLB Esurance Awards

Dodgers News: Joe Davis, Andrew Friedman Nominated For 2017 MLB Esurance Awards

Joe Davis
FOX Sports

In addition to Kiké Hernandez, Yasiel Puig and Justin Turner, the Los Angeles Dodgers are represented in the 2017 MLB Esurance Awards by team president of baseball operations Andrew Friedman and broadcaster Joe Davis.

Friedman is one of 10 nominees for the Best Executive Award. Friedman’s third year at the helm of the Dodgers front office was his most successful. The year included another National League West title, a fifth consecutive occurrence for the franchise, but their first trip to the World Series since 1988.

That came after the roster and depth assembled by Friedman led the Dodgers to an MLB-best 104-58 record. The wins were the most in Los Angeles franchise history and broke a record of 102 wins that was shared by the 1962 and 1974 clubs.

While Friedman and the Dodgers reveled in reaching the Fall Classic, he recently said the Game 7 loss to the Houston Astros might be one he never truly recovers from.

Cleveland Indians president of baseball operations Chris Antonetti, Colorado Rockies general manager Jeff Bridich, New York Yankees general manager Brian Cashman and Boston Red Sox director of baseball operations Dave Dombrowski are also nominees for the Best Executive Award.

So too are Chicago Cubs president of baseball operations Theo Esptein, Arizona Diamondbacks GM Mike Hazen, Minnesota Twins chief baseball officer Derek Falvey, Houston Astros general mangaer Jeff Luhnow and Washington Nationals general manager and president of baseball operations Mike Rizzo.

Davis is nominated for the Best Call, TV/Radio Award. Specifically, Chase Utley’s diving catch in the eighth inning against the Pittsburgh Pirates that at the time preserved Rich Hill’s perfect game.

Manny Machado’s walk-off grand slam, Francisco Lindor’s grand slam in the American League Division Series, Jose Altuve’s game-tying home run in Game 5 of the World Series, Alex Bregman’s walk-off hit in the same contest, and Sean Rodriguez’s walk-off home run are plays nominated for Best Call, TV/Radio.

Vin Scully won the award in 2016 for his call of Charlie Culberson’s walk-off home run that clinched the NL West.

Fans can vote for this year’s selections at Winners will be announced on Nov. 17.