Dodgers News: Freddie Freeman & Julio Urías Finalists For 2022 Players Choice Awards

The Los Angeles Dodgers had Freddie Freeman and Julio Urías named among the 2022 Players Choice Awards finalists.

Since 1992, the Players Choice Awards have recognized the outstanding on- and off-field performances of players. Voting among all players was conducted in late September.

Freeman is a contender for the National League Outstanding Player Award, along with Paul Goldschmidt (St. Louis Cardinals) and Austin Riley (Atlanta Braves). The 33-year-old put together an MVP-caliber season that saw him bat .325/.407/.511 with 47 doubles, 21 home runs and 100 RBI.

Freeman led the Majors with 199 hits and in doubles, while his on-base percentage and runs scored (117) were tops in the NL. He also ranked second in the league in batting average, on-base plus slugging (.918), wOBA (.393) and wRC+ (157).

Along with being in the running for NL Outstanding Player honors, Freeman is a finalist for the 2022 Hank Aaron Award and a Silver Slugger.

Urías is in the running for the NL Outstanding Pitcher Award after another dominant season at the forefront of the Dodgers rotation. The left-hander went 17-7 with an NL-best 2.16 ERA, 3.71 FIP and 0.96 WHIP in 175 innings pitched (31 starts).

Sandy Alcántara (Miami Marlins) and Zac Gallen (Arizona Diamondbacks) are Urías’ competition for the NL Outstanding Pitcher Award.

The winners of the 2022 Players Choice Awards will be Friday, Nov. 4, on ESPN’s 3 p.m. PT SportsCenter broadcast.

2022 Players Choice Awards Finalists

Player of the Year

Paul Goldschmidt (Arizona Diamondbacks), Aaron Judge (New York Yankees) and Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Angels)

Outstanding Player Award

American League: Aaron Judge (Yankees) and Shohei Ohtani (Angels)
National League: Freddie Freeman (Dodgers), Paul Goldschmidt (Cardinals) and Austin Riley (Braves)

Outstanding Pitcher Award

American League: Dylan Cease (Chicago White Sox), Alek Manoah (Toronto Blue Jays) and Justin Verlander (Houston Astros)
National League: Sandy Alcántara (Marlins), Zac Gallen (Diamondbacks) and Julio Urías (Dodgers)

Outstanding Rookie Award

American League: Julio Rodríguez (Seattle Mariners), Adley Rutschman (Baltimore Orioles) and Bobby Witt Jr. (Kansas City Royals)
National League: Brendan Donovan (Cardinals), Michael Harris II (Braves) and Spencer Strider (Braves)

Comeback Player Award

American League: Matt Carpenter (Yankees), Mike Trout (Angels) and Justin Verlander (Astros)
National League: Ronald Acuña Jr. (Braves), Brandon Drury (Cincinnati Reds/San Diego Padres) and Albert Pujols (Cardinals)

Marvin Miller Man of the Year

Francisco Lindor (New York Mets), Marcus Semien (Texas Rangers) and Brent Suter (Milwaukee Brewers)

Curt Flood Award

Buck Martinez, Brooks Robinson and Steve Rogers

Are you following Dodger Blue on Instagram? It’s the best way to see exclusive coverage from games and events, get your questions answered, and more!