Dodgers Awarded 2020 MLB All-Star Game
Keith Birmingham-Southern California News Group

Commissioner Rob Manfred formally announced the Los Angeles Dodgers will host the 2020 MLB All-Star Game. The Midsummer Classic was last played at Dodger Stadium in 1980, and the Dodgers’ only other time hosting in Los Angeles came in 1959.

“Dodger Stadium is one of our iconic stadiums, and it’s particularly appropriate we bring the All-Star Game here,” Manfred said. Kenley Jansen, Justin Turner, Ron Cey, Don Newcombe, Manny Mota, and Tommy Lasorda were among the Dodgers All-Stars who attended the news conference that was staged in center field.

Since the Dodgers last held the honor in 1980, a California team has hosted the All-Star Game seven times: California/Los Angeles Angels (1989, 2010), San Diego Padres (1992, 2016) and San Francisco Giants (1984, 2007). A total of nine teams have twice played host during that same stretch.

Davey Lopes, Steve Garvey, Bill Russell and Reggie Smith started for the Dodgers in the 1980 game, which the National League won. Ken Griffey Sr., who had two hits, including a home run, was named MVP.

The Washington Nationals are host this season’s All-Star Game at Nationals Park, and the Cleveland Indians hvae the honor of doing so at Progressive Field in 2019. By virtue of the Dodgers winning the 2017 pennant, Dave Roberts will manage the NL All-Stars this season.