Dodgers Fans Boo Joc Pederson In Return To Dodger Stadium With Giants

Los Angeles Dodgers fans gave Joc Pederson a warm welcome when he returned to Dodger Stadium last season with the Chicago Cubs.

The team presented Pederson with his 2020 World Series ring, and the pregame ceremony began with a video tribute that was met by loud applause from the sold-out crowd at Dodger Stadium. Pederson embraced Dodgers president of baseball operations Andrew Friedman, Cody Bellinger, Clayton Kershaw, AJ Pollock and Justin Turner.

He of course went on to finish the 2021 season with the Atlanta Braves, winning another World Series before opting out of his contract and becoming a free agent. Pederson went on to sign a one-year contract with his hometown San Francisco Giants.

No longer a member of the Braves, Pederson’s first visit to Dodger Stadium this season didn’t come until Tuesday. He appeared off the bench as a pinch-hitter and drew resounding boos from Dodgers fans when introduced.

Daniel Hudson struck him out to lead off the bottom of the eighth inning, which drew loud cheers from those in attendance. Pederson then was booed during lineup introductions on Wednesday and for each of his at-bats.

The reactions he received not only was drastically different from the response Dodgers fans gave him last year — even during the National League Championship Series — but also more hostile than how Kenley Jansen was treated earlier this season. Though, Jansen did receive some boos when entering for a save situation.

Aside from missing a few games leading up to the series against the Dodgers because of an adductor injury, Pederson is enjoying a successful season with the Giants. He’s batting .346/.375/.731 with two doubles, six home runs and 10 RBI.

“He does a good job of keeping in touch with his former teammates,” Dodgers manager Dave Roberts said before first pitch on Tuesday. “I haven’t talked to him, but he’s off to a great start.”

Pederson part of World Series history

Pederson became just the ninth player in MLB history to win back-to-back World Series with two different teams.

He joined a group that includes Allie Clark (New York Yankees, Cleveland Indians), Clem Labine (Dodgers, Pittsburgh Pirates), Moose Skowron (Yankees, Dodgers), Don Gullett (Cincinnati Reds, Yankees), Jack Morris (Minnesota Twins, Toronto Blue Jays), Ryan Theriot (St. Louis Cardinals, Giants), Jake Peavy (Boston Red Sox, Giants) and Ben Zobrist (Kansas City Royals, Cubs).

Are you following Dodger Blue on Instagram? It’s the best way to see exclusive coverage from games and events, get your questions answered, and more!