Dodgers All-Stars Mookie Betts & Freddie Freeman Among 2022 Hank Aaron Award Finalists

Los Angeles Dodgers All-Stars Mookie Betts and Freddie Freeman were named among the National League finalists for the 2022 Hank Aaron Award, which is presented annually to the top offensive player in each league.

Betts and Freeman are the Dodgers’ first finalists since Corey Seager in 2020, when he won World Series MVP. Matt Kemp (2011) is the only Dodgers player to ever win the Hank Aaron Award.

The honor went to Freeman (Atlanta Braves) and José Abreu (Chicago White Sox) that year, and Bryce Harper (Philadelphia Phillies) and Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (Toronto Blue Jays) for the 2021 season.

Each team nominates players to be considered, and a panel of writers then determine eight Hank Aaron Award finalists from each league. Fans have the opportunity to vote for a winner in the American League and National League through through Monday, October 24.

In addition to Hank Aaron Award fan voting, a panel of Hall of Fame players that includes Ken Griffey Jr., Chipper Jones, Pedro Martínez, John Smoltz, Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount will vote for respective league winners as well.

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of his breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record. At the time it was the first major award introduced by MLB in more than 25 years.

In his first season with the Dodgers, Freeman batted .325/.407/.511 with 47 doubles, 21 home runs and 100 RBI while appearing in 159 games. Freeman remained in the Dodgers lineup for every game until the night after the team clinched the NL West title.

Freeman led the Majors with 199 total hits and in doubles. His on-base percentage and runs scored (117) were tops in the NL. He ranked second in the league in batting average, on-base plus slugging (.918), wOBA (.393) and wRC+ (157).

Betts hit .269/.340/.533 with 40 doubles, 35 home runs and 82 RBI over 142 games while serving as the spark out of the leadoff spot in the Dodgers lineup. Betts tied with Freeman for the NL lead in runs (117), and his slugging percentage was second in the league.

Fellow finalists for the 2022 NL Hank Aaron Award are Pete Alonso (New York Mets), Nolan Arenado and Paul Goldschmidt (St. Louis Cardinals), Manny Machado (San Diego Padres), Austin Riley (Braves) and Kyle Schwarber (Phillies).

Hank Aaron Award AL nominees are Jose Altuve and Yordan Alvarez (Houston Astros), Rafael Devers (Boston Red Sox), Aaron Judge (New York Yankees), Shohei Ohtani and Mike Trout (Los Angeles Angels), José Ramirez (Cleveland Guardians) and Julio Rodríguez (Seattle Mariners).

History of Hank Aaron Award winners

Vladmir Guerrero Jr. and Bryce Harper (2021)
José Abreu and Freddie Freeman (2020)
Mike Trout and Christian Yelich (2019)
J.D. Martinez and Christian Yelich (2018)
Giancarlo Stanton and Jose Altuve (2017)
Kris Bryant and David Ortiz (2016)
Josh Donaldson and Bryce Harper (2015)
Giancarlo Stanton and Mike Trout (2014)
Miguel Cabrera and Paul Goldschmidt (2013)
Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey (2012)
José Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011)
José Bautista and Joey Votto (2010)
Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols (2009)
Aramis Ramirez and Kevin Youkilis (2008)
Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder (2007)
Derek Jeter and Ryan Howard (2006)
David Ortiz and Andruw Jones (2005)
Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds (2004)
Alex Rodriguez and Albert Pujols (2003)
Alex Rodriguez and Barry Bonds (2001-2002)
Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton (2000)
Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa (1999)

Have you subscribed to the Dodger Blue YouTube channel? Be sure to ring the notification bell to watch player interviews, participate in shows and giveaways, and stay up to date on all Dodgers news and rumors!