All-Star Game Voting Update: Corey Seager Rises To 3rd Among Shortstops
Richard Mackson-USA TODAY Sports

With 703,320 votes, Corey Seager is ranked third among shortstops in the latest National League voting update for the 2016 Major League Baseball All-Star Game. Seager last week was fourth among shortstops, joining Adrian Gonzalez as the only Los Angeles Dodgers position players to appear in the top-five in voting.

The Chicago Cubs’ Addison Russell (1,489,998 votes) continues to pace all shortstops, and he’s followed by Colorado’s Trevor Story (1,110,002). Seager is ahead of San Francisco’s Brandon Crawford by a tick under 11,000 votes, while Cincinnati’s Zack Cozart (449,278) rounds out the top five.

Entering play on Wednesday, Seager is batting .283/.343/.505 with 16 doubles, 15 home runs and 36 RBIs over 72 games (67 starts). He leads all NL shortstops with a 2.5 WAR and 80 hits, is second in home runs and on-base plus slugging percentage, and tied for second in doubles.

Meanwhile, after a strong showing early, Gonzalez continues to fade as voting wears on. He holds a comfortable lead over fifth-place Brandon Moss of the St. Louis Cardinals, but trails leading vote-getter Anthony Rizzo of the Chicago Cubs, who has 2,202,494 votes.

Also ahead of Gonzalez, who has 577,666 votes, are the Giants’ Brandon Belt (839,188) and Arizona’s Paul Goldschmidt (681,773). Gonzalez is hitting .272/.348/.386 in 69 games (67 starts) this season, with 11 doubles, six home runs and 32 RBIs.

He’s eighth among NL first basemen in on-base percentage, 10th in RBIs and OPS, and 11th in slugging. The Cubs continue to dominate voting at several positions, and are on pace to have starters at first base (Rizzo), second base (Ben Zobrist), third base (Kris Bryant), shortstop (Russell) and the outfield (Dexter Fowler).

What’s more, Jason Heyward ranks fourth in outfielder voting. Miguel Montero is fourth among catchers, with his 733,945 votes trailing leader Yadier Molina of the Cardinals (1,205,497).

The 2016 MLB All-Star Game will be played on Tuesday, July 12 at Petco Park. Voting ends at 8:59 p.m. PT on June 30 at