2023 Home Run Derby Bracket: Contestants, TV Details & How To Watch Online

The 2023 Home Run Derby is set to take place on Monday, July 10, at 5 p.m. PT from T-Mobile Park in Seattle. The 37th edition of the event will be televised exclusively by ESPN.

In addition to coverage on ESPN, the Home Run Derby will be available in Spanish on ESPN Deportes, as well as ESPN2, which will offer a Statcast-driven alternate viewing experience. The event is also available on ESPN Radio, Univision Radio and the ESPN App.

The Los Angeles Dodgers are being represented by Mookie Betts, who is participating in his first Home Run Derby. Betts is due to face the Toronto Blue Jays’ Vladimir Guerrero Jr. in the first round.

The 2023 Home Run Derby bracket was determined by each player’s season home run total through the Fourth of July. The tiebreaker for players with the same amount of home runs was the most long balls hit since June 15.

Betts earned the No. 3 seed by virtue of hitting 23 home runs through the designated period. Guerrero secured sixth in the field with 13 homers.

As for the rest of the competition, the Chicago White Sox’s Luis Robert Jr. clinched the No. 1 seed by hitting 25 home runs through Tuesday. The New York Mets’ Pete Alonso also has 25 home runs this season, but only three compared to Roberts’ nine since June 15.

Robert will face No. 8 seed Adley Rutschman of the Baltimore Orioles in the first round. Alonso, who claimed the No. 2 seed, is going up against No. 7 seed and hometown favorite Julio Rodríguez of the Seattle Mariners.

Alonso, a two-time Home Run Derby champion, was defeated by Rodríguez in the semifinals of last year’s event. Rodríguez went on to lose to Juan Soto in the final round.

The other first-round matchup will see the No. 4 seed Adolis García of the Texas Rangers take on the No. 5 seed Randy Arozarena of the Tampa Bay Rays.

Home Run Derby bracket

(1) Luis Robert Jr. vs. (8) Adley Rutschman
(2) Pete Alonso vs. (7) Julio Rodríguez
(3) Mookie Betts vs. (6) Vladimir Guerrero Jr.
(4) Adolis García vs. (5) Randy Arozarena

Home Run Derby rules

The single-elimination bracket with three rounds total remains in place. In each bracket and round, the higher seed hits second.

Each of the participants will have three minutes in the first and second rounds, and two minutes for swings in the final round, to hit as many home runs as possible.

The clock starts with the release of the first pitch and the round ends once the timer reads zero. A home run at the buzzer will count if the pitch was released prior to time running out.

Batters can earn 30 seconds of bonus time by hitting at least two home runs of at least 440 feet during a regulation period. They are entitled to one 45-second timeout during every regulation period.

Ties in any round are broken by a 60-second swing-off with no stoppage of time or additional time added. If a tie remains after the swing-off, hitters will engage in successive three-swing swing-offs until a winner is decided.

The prize pool for the Home Run Derby is $2.5 million, with the winner receiving $1 million.

Have you subscribed to the Dodger Blue YouTube channel? Be sure to ring the notification bell to watch player interviews, participate in shows and giveaways, and stay up to date on all Dodgers news and rumors!