2022 Gold Glove Award Winners Include 14 First-Time Recipients

The 2022 Gold Glove Award recipients were announced on Tuesday night prior to Game 3 of the World Series at Citizens Bank Park in Philadelphia.

The Los Angeles Dodgers were represented by Tyler Anderson and Mookie Betts, with the right fielder winning a sixth career Gold Glove Award.

Betts bested Daulton Varsho of the Arizona Diamondbacks and the San Diego Padres’ Juan Soto. The 30-year-old had previously won a Gold Glove for five consecutive seasons from 2016-2020.

Anderson, was edged-out by Atlanta Braves Max Fried in the pitching category. It marked a third Gold Glove Award in a row for Fried.

In a year that featured a Gold Glove for the utility position for the first time, the award recipients are headlined by 14 first-time winners, a new single-season record (previously 11 in 1958 and 2020). Of those 14 first-time winners, nine are from the American League, the most all-time for a single league as well.

First-time winners in the National League were Diamondbacks first basemen Christian Walker, Colorado Rockies second baseman Brendan Rodgers, Atlanta Braves shortstop Dansby Swanson, Chicago Cubs left fielder Ian Happ, and St. Louis Cardinals rookie utility man Brendan Donovan.

Most notably, Cardinals third baseman Nolan Arenado won a Gold Glove for an improbable 10th consecutive season, tying Ichiro Suzuki for the most in a row to begin a Major League career.

As for the American League, first-time winners are New York Yankees catcher Jose Trevino, Toronto Blue Jays first baseman Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Cleveland Guardians second baseman Andrés Giménez, Houston Astros rookie shortstop Jeremy Peña, Baltimore Orioles third baseman Ramón Urías, Guardians rookie left fielder Steven Kwan, Guardians center fielder Myles Straw, Houston Astros right fielder Kyle Tucker, and Guardians pitcher Shane Bieber.

Continuing his stellar age-25 rookie season, Peña, fresh off an American League Championship MVP Award, is the first Astros rookie shortstop to win a Gold Glove.

Highlighting the four Guardians Gold Glove winners, Kwan is the first Cleveland rookie while Bieber is the first pitcher in franchise history to win the award.

National League Gold Glove Award winners

Pitcher: Max Fried, Atlanta Braves (third award)
Catcher: J.T. Realmuto, Philadelphia Phillies (second award)
First base: Christian Walker, Arizona Diamondbacks (first award)
Second base: Brendan Rodgers, Colorado Rockies (first award)
Third base: Nolan Arenado, St. Louis Cardinals (tenth award)
Shortstop: Dansby Swanson, Atlanta Braves (first award)
Left field: Ian Happ, Chicago Cubs (first award)
Center field: Trent Grisham, San Diego Padres (second award)
Right field: Mookie Betts, Los Angeles Dodgers (sixth award)
Utility: Brendan Donovan, St. Louis Cardinals (first award)

American League Gold Glove Award winners

Pitcher: Shane Bieber, Cleveland Guardians (first award)
Catcher: Jose Trevino, New York Yankees (first award)
First base: Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Toronto Blue Jays (first award)
Second base: Andrés Giménez, Cleveland Guardians (first award)
Third base: Ramón Urías, Baltimore Orioles (first award)
Shortstop: Jeremy Peña, Houston Astros (first award)
Left field: Steven Kwan, Cleveland Guardians (first award)
Center field: Myles Straw, Cleveland Guardians (first award)
Right field: Kyle Tucker, Houston Astros (first award)
Utility: DJ LeMahieu, New York Yankees (fourth award)

Have you subscribed to the Dodger Blue YouTube channel? Be sure to ring the notification bell to watch player interviews, participate in shows and giveaways, and stay up to date on all Dodgers news and rumors!