2020 BBWAA Awards: Rookie Of The Year, Cy Young, Manager Of The Year And MVP Winners

The 2020 BBWAA Awards winners were announced throughout the week on MLB Network, highlighting each league’s top performers in what was a unique season.

The Los Angeles Dodgers only had one nominee for all of the awards, and that was Mookie Betts for National League MVP, although he ultimately finished second behind Freddie Freeman of the Atlanta Braves.

The Dodgers did have players appear in final voting for multiple awards, including Dave Roberts placing fifth for Manager of the Year. Clayton Kershaw finished tied for ninth in Cy Young Award voting, and Corey Seager received votes for MVP.

Included below is a complete list of the players and managers who took home hardware for their efforts during the 2020 season.

American League MVP: Jose Abreu, Chicago White Sox

Abreu was named the MVP of the American League over Cleveland Indians third baseman Jose Ramirez and New York Yankees second baseman DJ LeMahieu, who finished in second and third, respectively.

Abreu played all 60 games for the White Sox this season, putting up monster offensive numbers, hitting .317/.370/.617 with 19 home runs and 60 RBI. Abreu led the AL in hits, total bases and RBI to take home his first career MVP.

National League MVP: Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves

Betts may have won an NL Silver Slugger and Gold Glove, but it was Freeman that took home the MVP Award over him and Manny Machado (third) after overcoming a battle with coronavirus (COVID-19) just before the start of the season to have a career year offensively.

Freeman hit .341/.462/.640 with 13 home runs, 23 doubles, 51 runs scored and 53 RBI in 60 games.

AL Cy Young: Shane Beiber, Cleveland Indians

Bieber had an incredible 2020 season that put him into the AL MVP discussion in addition to winning the Cy Young unanimously. In 12 starts, Bieber went 8-1 with a 1.63 ERA, 2.07 FIP and 0.87 WHIP with a league-leading 122 strikeouts and just 21 walks in 77.1 innings.

He won the award over two former Dodgers pitchers in Kenta Maeda (second) and Hyun-Jin Ryu (third).

NL Cy Young: Trevor Bauer, Cincinnati Reds

Both Cy Young Awards went to Ohio this year with Bauer taking home NL honors. He only was 5-4 but had a league-leading 1.73 ERA to go along with a 2.88 FIP, 0.80 WHIP, 100 strikeouts and 17 walks in 73 innings.

Bauer edged out Yu Darvish (second) and Jacob deGrom (third) to win the award and now heads into free agency with some hardware.

AL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year: Kyle Lewis, Seattle Mariners

Lewis also won his award unanimously, getting all 30 first-place votes over Luis Robert and Cristian Javier.

In his first full season, the Mariners’ center fielder slashed .262/.364/.437 with 11 home runs, 37 runs scored, 28 RBI and five stolen bases.

NL Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year: Devin Williams, Milwaukee Brewers

Williams took home NL honors of the Rookie of the Year over Alec Bohm and Jake Cronenworth after a historic season out of the Brewers’ bullpen.

The right-hander allowed just one earned run in 27 innings in 2020, posting a 0.33 ERA, 0.86 FIP and 0.63 WHIP in 22 appearances. Williams boasted perhaps the best pitch in all of baseball in 2020, a devastating changeup that led to him striking out 53 while only walking nine.

AL Manager of the Year: Kevin Cash, Tampa Bay Rays

Cash was named AL Manager of the Year over Charlie Montoya and Rick Renteria, who was recently let go by the White Sox.

While Cash led the Tampa Bay Rays to an AL-best 40-20 record, he will be known for taking out Blake Snell in the sixth inning of Game 6 of the World Series, which led to the Dodgers clinching their first World Series since 1988.

NL Manager of the Year: Don Mattingly, Miami Marlins

Mattingly did a terrific job with the Marlins in 2020, overcoming a coronavirus outbreak to get them back to the postseason for the first time since 2003. The Marlins finish 31-29, defeating the Chicago Cubs in the Wild Card series before being defeated by the Braves in the NL Division Series.

Mattingly won the award over Jayce Tingler and David Ross, with Dave Roberts finishing in fifth.

Have you subscribed to our YouTube channel? It’s the best way to watch player interviews, exclusive coverage from events and more!