2018 MLB All-Star Game Voting: Matt Kemp, Cody Bellinger Among 8 Dodgers On First Ballot
Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

The Los Angeles Dodgers had Yasmani Grandal (catcher), Cody Bellinger (first base), Logan Forsythe (second base), Justin Turner (third base), Chris Taylor (shortstop), Matt Kemp (outfield), Joc Pederson (outfield) and Yasiel Puig (outfield) included on the first ballot ahead of 2018 MLB All-Star Game voting opening Friday, June 1, at 9 a.m. PT.

While Bellinger and Forsythe are having down seasons thus far, Grandal and Kemp have been the Dodgers’ best hitters for much of the year. Turner has made an impact since coming off the disabled list, and Pederson, Puig and Taylor have experienced peaks and valleys.

That Taylor is listed with shortstops does speak volumes about his versatility and ability to play the position at a high level in effort of filling in for Corey Seager, who underwent season-ending Tommy John surgery.

Though, shortstop is a loaded position and one that Taylor figures to have a difficult time garnering enough votes to make his first career start in an All-Star Game. The Dodgers had six players named to last year’s Midsummer Classic, though none started.

This season’s All-Star Game, the 89th in its history, is being hosted by the Washington Nationals for the first time since the franchise relocated.

All-Star Game voting will be conducted exclusively online and via mobile devices at MLB.com, all 30 club websites, and the MLB At Bat and MLB Ballpark mobile apps. Beginning Friday, fans around can cast their votes for starters a total of 35 times, including a maximum of five valid ballots cast in any 24-hour period.

Details regarding the unveiling of the 2018 American League and National League All-Star Teams will be provided at a later date. The AL All-Star Team will have nine elected starters via fan balloting, while the NL All-Star Team will have eight fan-elected starters.

The pitchers and reserves for both teams — 23 for the NL and 22 for the AL — will be determined through a combination of “Player Ballot” choices and selections made by the Commissioner’s Office.

Houston Astros manager AJ Hinch will lead the AL All-Stars, while Dave Roberts will manage the NL team as the Dodgers are the defending league champions.

As part of our efforts to help you understand how we handle the personal information you share with us, and in preparation for the new European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), we’ve updated our Privacy & Cookies Policy. The updated Privacy & Cookies Policy will take effect on May 22, 2018. By using our services on or after that date, you’ll be agreeing to our updated Privacy & Cookies Policy. We recommend that you read our updated Privacy & Cookies Policy in full.