2016 MLB Postseason And World Series Schedule
Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Baseball announced the 2016 postseason and World Series schedule on Tuesday, which has the American League Wild Card Game kicking things off Tuesday, Oct. 4 on TBS.

The National League Wild Card Game follows on Oct. 5 and will be broadcast on ESPN. The AL Division Series and NL Division Series begin Thursday, Oct. 6 and Friday, Oct. 7, respectively.

TBS has exclusive broadcasting rights to the ALDS and AL Championship Series. The NLDS will be televised on FOX Sports 1 (FS1) or MLB Network. FOX or FS1 will carry the NL Championship Series.

The NL as a whole has a slight advantage with the Division Series scheduling as the Game 1 starter can take the mound on regular rest even if he pitched the final day — Sunday, Oct. 2 — of the regular season.

That may prove particularly beneficial for the Los Angeles Dodgers and San Francisco Giants as they’re in the midst of tight NL West race.

Los Angeles and San Francisco meet Tuesday for the first of nine remaining regular-season games. They conclude the 2016 regular season with a three-game set at AT&T Park from Sept. 30 through Oct. 2.

After the Division Series games, the MLB postseason schedule continues Friday, Oct. 14 for the start of the ALCS; Game 1 of the NLCS is scheduled Oct. 15. Should a team sweep the Division Series, they will be afforded five days’ rest before beginning the next round.

The World Series begins Tuesday, Oct. 25 in the home of the AL pennant winner. Should the World Series go beyond five games, the schedule will carry into November with Games 6 and 7 slated for Nov. 1-2.

Per usual, FOX has exclusive broadcasting rights for the World Series. Complete 2016 postseason schedule below:

AL Wild Card Game

Tuesday, Oct. 4 (TBS)

NL Wild Card Game

Wednesday, Oct. 5 (ESPN)


Game 1: Thursday, Oct. 6 (TBS)
Game 2: Friday, Oct. 7 (TBS)
Game 3: Sunday, Oct. 9 (TBS)
Game 4*: Monday, Oct. 10 (TBS)
Game 5*: Wednesday, Oct. 12 (TBS)


Game 1: Friday, Oct. 7 (Fox Sports 1 or MLB Network)
Game 2: Saturday, Oct. 8 (Fox Sports 1 or MLB Network)
Game 3: Monday, Oct. 10 (Fox Sports 1 or MLB Network)
Game 4*: Tuesday, Oct. 11 (Fox Sports 1)
Game 5*: Thursday, Oct. 13 (Fox Sports 1)


Game 1: Friday, Oct. 14 (TBS)
Game 2: Saturday, Oct. 15 (TBS)
Game 3: Monday, Oct. 17 (TBS)
Game 4: Tuesday, Oct. 18 (TBS)
Game 5*: Wednesday, Oct. 19 (TBS)
Game 6*: Friday, Oct. 21 (TBS)
Game 7*: Saturday, Oct. 22 (TBS)


Game 1: Saturday, Oct. 15 (FOX or Fox Sports 1)
Game 2: Sunday, Oct. 16 (FOX or Fox Sports 1)
Game 3: Tuesday, Oct. 18 (FOX or Fox Sports 1)
Game 4: Wednesday, Oct. 19 (FOX or Fox Sports 1)
Game 5*: Thursday, Oct. 20 (FOX or Fox Sports 1)
Game 6*: Saturday, Oct. 22 (FOX or Fox Sports 1)
Game 7*: Sunday, Oct. 23 (FOX or Fox Sports 1)

World Series

Game 1: Tuesday, Oct. 25 @ AL (FOX)
Game 2: Wednesday, Oct. 26 @ AL (FOX)
Game 3: Friday, Oct. 28 @ NL (FOX)
Game 4: Saturday, Oct. 29 @ NL (FOX)
Game 5*: Sunday, Oct. 30 @ NL (FOX)
Game 6*: Tuesday, Nov. 1 @ AL (FOX)
Game 7*: Wednesday, Nov. 2 @ AL (FOX)

*If necessary