2016 MLB All-Star Game: American League And National League Rosters
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The American League and National League rosters for the 2016 Major League Baseball All-Star Game were announced during a live telecast Tuesday on ESPN. As updates to fan voting suggested would be the case, the Chicago Cubs lead the NL with five starters.

Chicago is the first teams since the 1976 Cincinnati Reds to have five elected All-Star starters. As for the AL, the Boston Red Sox lead with four starters. The reigning World Series champion Kansas City Royals are represented by starters Salvador Perez and Eric Hosmer.

Red Sox designated hitter/first baseman David Ortiz makes the 10th All-Star Game of his career, and his first since 2013. This year holds special meaning for Ortiz as he’s set to retire at the end of the 2016 season.

Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim outfielder Mike Trout unsurprisingly earned another All-Star Game bid. As the fifth player who’s multiple All-Star Game MVPs, he’s in line to become the first player in MLB history to take home the MVP Award at the Midsummer Classic a third consecutive year.

The Los Angeles Dodgers, to no surprise based on the weekly updates to fan voting, do not have an All-Star Game starter. Their best opportunity to change that lied with Clayton Kershaw but that went out the window with the ace landing on the 15-day disabled list.

However, they will be represented in the game by Kenley Jansen and Corey Seager, both of whom earned their first selection. The 22-year-old Seager is the Dodgers’ youngest position player selected to an All-Star Game.

Kershaw was also named an All-Star for the sixth consecutive year. Kershaw received most votes from players among NL starting pitchers, Seager was tops at shortstop, and Jansen second among NL relief pitchers.

Cubs outfielder Dexter Fowler, who earned his first All-Star Game selection, is hopeful to come off the DL in time to start. After undergoing a period of public voting, Brandon Belt (San Francisco Giants) escaped with the final vote in the National League, beating out Ryan Braun (Milwaukee Brewers), Jake Lamb (Diamondbacks), Starling Marte (Pirates) and Trevor Story (Colorado Rockies).

The AL final vote was won by Michael Saunders (Toronto Blue Jays) and their northern fan base. Saunders beat out Ian Kinsler (Detroit Tigers), Evan Longoria (Rays), Dustin Pedroia (Red Sox), and George Springer (Houston Astros).

New York Mets manager Terry Collins will manage the NL team, while Royals skipper Ned Yost will lead the AL.

AL starters

DH: David Ortiz (Red Sox)
C: Salvador Perez (Royals)
1B: Eric Hosmer (Royals)
2B: Jose Altuve (Astros)
SS: Xander Bogaerts (Red Sox)
3B: Manny Machado (Orioles)
OF: Mike Trout (Angels)
OF: Jackie Bradley Jr. (Red Sox)
OF: Mookie Betts (Red Sox)

AL reserves

OF: Carlos Beltran (Yankees)
1B: Miguel Cabrera (Tigers)
2B: Robinson Cano (Mariners)
OF: Ian Desmond (Rangers)
3B: Josh Donaldson (Blue Jays)
DH: Edwin Encarnacion (Blue Jays)
SS: Francisco Lindor (Indians)
IF: Eduardo Nunez (Twins)
OF: Michael Saunders (Blue Jays; Final Vote)
OF: Mark Trumbo (Orioles)
C: Stephen Vogt (Athletics)
C: Matt Wieters (Orioles)

AL pitchers

RHP: Dellin Betances (Yankees)
RHP: Brad Brach (Orioles)
RHP: Zach Britton (Orioles)
RHP: Alex Colome (Rays)
RHP: Wade Davis (Royals; injured, will be replaced)
LHP: Cole Hamels (Rangers)
RHP: Will Harris (Astros)
RHP: Kelvin Herrera (Royals)
RHP: Corey Kluber (Indians; Replacing Estrada)
LHP: Andrew Miller (Yankees)
LHP: Jose Quintana (White Sox; Replacing Salazar)
LHP: Chris Sale (White Sox)
RHP: Aaron Sanchez (Blue Jays; Replacing Kimbrel)
RHP: Steven Wright (Red Sox)

NL starters

C: Buster Posey (Giants)
1B: Anthony Rizzo (Cubs)
2B: Ben Zobrist (Cubs)
SS: Addison Russell (Cubs)
3B: Kris Bryant (Cubs)
OF: Bryce Harper (Nationals)
OF: Carlos Gonzalez (Rockies)
OF: Marcell Ozuna (Marlins)

NL reserves

1B: Brandon Belt (Giants; Final Vote)
OF: Jay Bruce (Reds; Replacing Fowler)
SS: Aledmys Diaz (Cardinals; Replacing Holliday)
1B/OF: Adam Duvall (Reds)
SS: Corey Seager (Dodgers)
C: Jonthan Lucroy (Brewers)
OF: Starling Marte (Pirates; Replacing Cespedes)
1B: Wil Myers (Padres)
C: Wilson Ramos (Nationals)
OF: Carlos Gonzalez (Rockies)
OF: Odubel Herrera (Phillies)

NL pitchers

RHP: Jake Arrieta (Cubs)
RHP: Bartolo Colon (Mets; Replacing Bumgarner)
RHP: Johnny Cueto (Giants)
RHP: Jeurys Familia (Mets)
RHP: Jose Fernandez (Marlins)
RHP: Kenley Jansen (Dodgers)
LHP: Clayton Kershaw (Dodgers; injured, will be replaced)
LHP: Jon Lester (Cubs)
RHP: Mark Melancon (Pirates)
RHP: A.J. Ramos (Marlins)
RHP: Fernando Rodney (Marlins)
RHP: Max Scherzer (Nationals; Replacing Strasburg)
LHP: Drew Pomeranz (Padres; Replacing Syndergaard)
RHP: Julio Teheran (Braves)